The Weekly Soccer Referee Blog
Sharpening Referee Knowledge and Judgment, One Week at a Time
Volume 9, Issue 12, March 19, 2017
Forward this to a Fellow Soccer Ref!
Please feel free to forward this Blog to your fellow soccer officials or tell them about it.
The purpose of this Blog is so we can all learn from each other’s experience and by doing so, avoid mistakes, make more consistent calls, and do a better job. I don’t have to make any of this up – this is what happens on the pitch.
The Last Week
Well, the season is under way, and I’m still “reffing” a Refuel Outage at my full time job. Maybe I’ll get to the pitch in another week – we’re still putting things back together. If anyone sees anything good in the first weeks of the season, send it in!
Quote of the Week
“Are you blind? How could you miss that?”
From a coach after a non-foul occurred (player got all ball, no trailing leg, no foul – the opponent went over the ball).
This Week’s Question – Carpy Parent
On a High School boys game …
You’re graced by the officials shortage to be working this game solo. Fortunately, the field is on the average to small size.
There is a good challenge right in front of you, in which the player gets all ball and the opponent goes over the ball to the ground. Nothing in the play was reckless or with excessive force – it was a good challenge.
The male parent on the sideline starts carping at you about not making the call. He calls you a “homer,” and asks which kid on the team is yours.
You allow this to go on for a bit, and he finally tapers off. Another similar challenge occurs, this time with his team getting the advantage.
“Carpy” pipes up “Oh, that’s a payback non-call.”
You Make the Call:
What is the call?
What is the restart?
Last Week’s Question – That’s New
On a recent High School boys tournament play in game …
You arrive at the game, and are assigned as AR2 by the scheduling software program in a 2 referee game.
Referee 1 is already at the game, and has checked the balls, walked the goals, checked the corner flags, inspected the field, players, talked to the coaches, caught the rosters, and has everything ready to go.
While you are doing your pre-game, he asks you if you want to use the new NFHS 2 Referee System approach, where you switch sides (e.g., if you had the Experts, you move to the coaches, and vice versa) at the half.
You’ve never heard of such a thing, and are perplexed. He offers that it’s on Page 92 of the Rule Book.
You Make the Call:
What is the call?
What is the restart?
What You Said:
No, we are not changing ends at half. To reduce the appearance of any impropriety we will NOT be changing ends.
Well, this referee is correct. Perhaps a review of the high school officiating manual would make you privy to this little-applied concept. Time to start practicing it if you aren’t familiar with it. It actually can be a useful management technique in the 2 referee system when trying to control sideline behavior…
I actually try to employ this, if my partner is comfortable with it, if there were problems the first half (either with spectators or coaches). This gives the aggrieved party the chance to deal with an alternative personality before being launched from the confines of the establishment. Couldn’t get along with myself or my partner? Maybe the problem is you, coach!
This is one of those things that you can easily do or don’t do.
Our crew used to do it. Now that we’re old and cranky doesn’t matter who gets what side, it’s all the same.
Hey, I’m flexible. If you can run left as well as right, and not get yourself screwed up, why not?
There may be times when the field, or the weather, etc., may force you to do something you’re not used to, so get some experience at it.
That said, since IHSA didn’t send me the NFHS book, I’d like him to show me his copy. Hell, I might learn something.
If I am officiating a HS game I have attended the rules meeting and taken the test. So if this is news to me either I was asleep or there is something wrong.
My main concern would be: Since this is a tournament, what do the tournament rules say? Otherwise: I am AR2, and I am late. My AR1 wants to switch sides at the half I go with it. If I am uncertain, I will grab my rules book after the game and make sure I am better prepared.
I am familiar with this rule but know of no-one who has ever actually done it. I’ve never heard it discussed at any meeting, seen it on a test or mentioned on an assessment. Are we supposed to follow/apply the rules? Yes, but unless told this is now required, most refs will remain blissfully unaware and continue doing “duals” the way we always have.
Did everyone have to dive to the rule book like I had to in this case? I had this submitted by a regular reader, and thought “It can’t be so!”
The last sentence in the second paragraph on Page 92 states:
“In games played in halves, officials should exchange field side sat halftime and “lead” to their left starting the second half, assuming they were leading to their right in the first half.”
Too bad the latest rules questions (about adopting the goofy rules USSF / FIFA recently adopted) didn’t include a question on this. Talk about hiding something in plain sight!
A tip of the hat to the official who found this “ooolie” hidden away in the rules. Use at your own risk – I don’t endorse it.
(Ooolie – a hidden “gotcha” in tests, where an obscure fact is used to make sure few people get 100% on exams. – Wait a minute – that’s the case in most IHSA exams…..)
Follow Up to “Enough”
I had a lot of positive comments on Enough. This one really hit home for me from a clinician:
“Good blog this week, George. Same info I have given for YEARS in the clinics I have given. I’m one of the 200, but with me we’re losing 40 years of experience. Everything must have an end point.”